Giving HDR imaging a second chance

When I first made HDR photos a couple of years ago, I felt they looked washed out and horrible.
Now that I´ve learned a lot more about still-photography and color-correction,
I figured it was time to give it another go.

Bolsøysundet – Molde, Norway

I used to process my HDR images in Photoshop, but this time around I wanted to check out some of the software designed to process HDR images.
My tool of choice for these images was Photomatix from HDRsoft.

Each photo consists of 3 images shot in an 1EV interval.The images is also shot handheld. To remove visible camera shake I used the
«remove ghosting» function provided in Photomatix.

Photomatix also have a lot of presets for beginners. I found that these presets did not give me the results I were hoping for at all.

It is best to adjust the sliders within the software, until you get an image you are satisfied with.

These images are all shot on a Canon EOS 450d.

Kringstadbukta

Kringstadbukta – Molde, Norway

Bolsøysundet

Bolsøysundet – Molde,Norway

2 responses to “Giving HDR imaging a second chance

  1. The first and third pictures are great! The second one is showing the kind of things why I have not set my foot into the HDR area yet, though. The overall image looks unnatural. From my point of view, this is due to the fact that a lot of light is there which does not quite make sense. It is as if there is more than one light source, with different intensities. In addition, there is this glow around the areas which were darker before because it is quite difficult for the software to level out the limits between areas which should be darker and areas which you expect to be lighter.

    Again, I like two out of the three pictures, which is quite rare. The majority of HDR pictures could have been excellent pictures when the photographer would have taken more time to work on better exposure or contrast for a single image rather than trying to have magic worked by a program as far as I am concerned. But things seem to get better when one is dedicated 🙂
    Cheers,
    Andreas

    • I agree 🙂 HDR photography is a great tool for when lighting conditions are tricky, but they tend to look al bit cartoonish and strange. Espesially HDR pictures of people looks weird, although I´ve never tried it myself..
      There´s enough of over-filtered images on the web, with Instagram and others making everyone with a cameraphone feel like “professional photographers” 😉

      Thank´s for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

